Skip to main content

Voices. Knowledge. Solutions.

All companies licensed/registered with the South Carolina Department of Insurance to do business within the state of South Carolina must file and pay a municipal license tax with the Municipal Association of South Carolina.

There are 271 participating municipalities in the Program.

Payments for municipal license taxes are due by May 31. Any payment received after May 31 is subject to a 5 percent monthly penalty. 

The only method of reporting premiums, paying the business license tax (if applicable) and updating contact information is online. Premiums by municipality may be added manually to the online system or uploaded as a CSV file.

Instructions for accessing the online reporting system were included in the annual company mailing. If you have not received the annual mailing, contact


The CSV (comma separate value) file layout is as follows: "Municipality","Taxable Premiums"
  • Municipality - name of the participating municipality
  • Taxable Premiums - the amount of taxable premiums written by the company for the municipality.
"City A","$1,200.00"
"City B","$400,342.00"
The upload function requires the municipality's name to appear exactly as it does in our system.