Skip to main content

Voices. Knowledge. Solutions.

News briefs

​The South Carolina Municipal Insurance Trust and the South Carolina Municipal Insurance Risk Financing Fund boards of directors recognized members that reduced their total costs and kept employees safe while delivering better public services. The 2017 Risk Management Services award winners were Town of Varnville, City of Walhalla and City of Spartanburg (SCMIT members), and Town of Heath Springs, City of Walhalla and City of Cayce (SCMIRF members).

The S.C. Department of Disabilities and Special Needs presented its Silver Palmetto Award to the City of Georgetown at the Municipal Association's 2018 Hometown Legislative Action Day. This award thanks municipal governments for their leadership and actions that support people with disabilities and special needs.

Audubon International certified the Town of Hilton Head Island as South Carolina's first public Audubon Sustainable Community. Certification was a multiyear, three-stage effort demonstrating outstanding achievements and dedication to planning for a sustainable future.