Skip to main content

Voices. Knowledge. Solutions.

News Briefs

Members of the Building Officials Association of SC elected their 2018 – 2019 board of directors. They are President Patrick Brown, Town of Edisto Beach; President-elect J. Shawn Brashear, Florence County; First Vice President Chris Stover, City of Greenville; Second Vice President Ruthie Helms, City of Greer; Past President Buddy Skinner, City of Greenville. Directors are Tink Barnes, City of Clinton; Ward Braswell, City of Newberry; Rebecca Finch, Dorchester County; Barry Holcombe, Anderson County; Kecia Lara, Richland County; Curt Whaley, Florence County; and Rollie Reynolds, Kershaw County.

The Government Finance Officers Association elected City of Rock Hill Deputy City Manager Steven Gibson as its president. This national organization of more than 19,000 government finance officers promotes "excellence in state and local government financial management."

The City of York was named a finalist in the America's Main Streets contest. The contest promotes "the importance and strong economic benefits of these Main Streets and the small businesses that help them thrive."